Would You Like Some Freshly Ground Pepper on Your Ice Cream?

Whenever I hear someone say they “hate” liars, manipulators, cheaters, etc, I conclude that they hate all people who engage in such behaviors, after all they said they did. And I must admit I agree, although the word “hate” is a little strong, I also find such behaviors undesirable. But if a Partisan makes such a statement the meaning is entirely different.

A Partisan only “hates” lying, manipulating, cheating etc. when someone from the “other side of the aisle” is the culprit. In other words, a Partisan is saying, “I don’t really hate those behaviors, I hate ___________(fill in the blank), and I take advantage of any chance I get to voice that hatred.”

As I previously stated, I’m neither a Dem or a Rep, and I’m fully aware that this “political stasis” casts aspersions on my character. But if I honestly cared I’d drink someone’s Kool-Aid, which I’m not about to do.

Reps have issues with which I agree as do the Dems. The problem is when I look deeper I realize that aside from these “wedge issues” there is very little difference between the two. Anyone who’s ever been around both “Conservatives” and “Liberals” simultaneously understands what I mean. Strip away their talking points and they are virtually identical. It’s like watching Yankees and Red Sox fans go at it, both are equally abrasive, and annoying.

When speaking with  Partisans what I hear is proselytizing based not on what a great choice they made, but on how “those others” made a “really really bad choice”. In other words, it’s an inverted attempt at conversion. “Join us because those guys over there suck.” Not, “You should really consider joining us because we have a lot to offer, and we think if you give us a chance you’ll agree.”

Being a natural skeptic, I have a hard time with such “logic”. If I’m thinking of purchasing a Mercedes Benz I don’t want to hear why I shouldn’t purchase a BMW. Tell me why Mercedes is the best choice. And once I hear your sales pitch I’m going to research what you said. If I’m going to make that kind of investment I want to be sure it’s worth it. I don’t want to look back a year or five years from now and say, “Why in the Hell did I buy this piece of junk? What is wrong with me? I spent 80 grand on a friggin’ Hyundai!” And in my eyes that’s what the parties are trying to sell, an $80,000 Hyundai.

If I’m going to invest my heart and mind, I want to see people dancing in the streets. I want there to be almost no doubt that this, in fact, is the “way to go.” But that’s not what I see.

What I see are a bunch of people who look and sound miserable. Utterly joyless. Al Gore may very well be a “filthy stinking liar”, but that’s not a “logical” reason to oppose Global Warming. Sure Rush Limbaugh is a hypocrite and a junkie, why spend 3 hours listening to him? There’s nothing wrong with having a legitimate beef with other people, but I don’t understand this vitriol. I think George Bush will go down as one of the worst Presidents in US history, but I don’t want him to get run over by a bus. What these people are selling is misery.

Actually “sell” isn’t accurate, they “anti-sell”. “Yes, this car is a piece of crap. No, it won’t last more than a couple of months. Yes, I’m bitterly unhappy. But “their” car is even worse and “they’re” even more unhappy. Besides, if you buy this car from me maybe I won’t feel so bad that I bought one myself.” I must respond with a resounding, “No, Thanks. I think I’m going to stick with Hondas. They may not be fancy and they may not run perfectly but they get me where I want to go.”

 Which is more than I can say about you.

Digg!

~ by fairlane on May 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
