Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band…

fairlane59.jpg

Captain Beefheart

I don’t even know what to say about Captain Beefheart. His influence is legendary and he, along with Frank Zappa, took music on a strange but wonderful ride.

If you’ve never heard him, Listen. If you have, then sit back, fire up the Hookah and Enjoy.

Mirror Man


Damphear

 

Sure ’nuff n’ Yes I Do


Nembutal

 

 

 

 

 

~ by fairlane on July 14, 2007.

8 Responses to “Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band…”

  1. I’m wearing my “Trout Mask Replica” as I listen, Thanks and Cheers to ya ! ; )

  2. You know how there is a fine line between genius and insanity? I can’t figure out which side of the line this guy falls on. I’ve watched a couple of interviews, and he’s out definitely “out there”. However, he’s also very gifted. I admire his ability to think outside the box and to be so artistic. It’s something I struggle with. I’m more of a straight-laced engineer type. Creativity is my nemesis.

  3. Musically and artistically he and Zappa are definitely “geniuses.”

    But Beefheart never displayed Zappa’s penchant for communicating outside art though, and I’m not sure if it has something to do with his reported isolationism as a child, (Something he’s carried on as an adult as well) or if his “gift” is only as an artist not unlike Mozart and Van Gogh.

    Zappa held his own in front of Congress debating against the PMRC, he was on Crossfire and numerous other shows campaigning against Censorship etc. Very intelligent and articulate man.

    Beefheart acts like his spaceship just landed and he doesn’t know where in the Hell he is.

  4. Exactly. Beefheart looks like he’s completely lost. In a Letterman interview, David brought up his childhood and how he was kept in a room. Beefheart gave a weird, elusive answer, as though he was uncomfortable talking about it, but wanted to make it sound innocuous. He said that he’d stay locked in his room, sculpting, and his parents would slip food under the door for him. It was not clear to me if he was exaggerating, telling the truth, or covering up serious parental abuse. I suspected the latter for some reason.

  5. I almost posted that interview, but decided against it for that very reason. He looked completely lost.

    But he’s married, so somebody gets him.

    I guess.

  6. I disagree with your “Creativity is my nemesis” comment.

  7. […] of the first bands in the “Post Punk” era Joy Division’s influence, not unlike Captain Beefheart’s, is almost immeasurable. In fact, “Unknown Pleasures” is considered by many to not only […]

  8. […] Butthole Surfers, The Jesus Lizard, Joy Division, New Order, Dead Kennedys, Interpol, Sigur Rós, Captain Beefheart, The Misfits, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, The Birthday Party, Subhumans, Radiohead, The Fall, Big […]

Leave a Reply

 
