Out West

If I were to write a story about you
and I
Where would I begin?
and how would it end?

Along the shoreline of Oregon
I
see
things
for the first time

The mist sprays me
from the rocks at the beach’s edge and
she is there behind me.

Always behind me.

I look out over the
Horizon and

Wonder
if she even notices.

We return to my car
not a word spoken

between

us

It is silent
Except for the waves

Crashing, crashing inevitably
in my mind.

The drive is a long one

The
roads
wind
in front
of me
like a
pointless

conversation

and

She sits there
a stone,

frowning
wondering what she’s doing
a thousand miles from

Home

with me.

It seemed ideal at first
She and I.

We’d one day sit in

Rocking Chairs

Looking back over
our life together.

But for now we just
wait For
the next stop

the next motel or campsite.

Hoping that nothing happens along
the Way
to disturb

Our

Silence

Doubts creeps through
the Cracked
Window

Whispering in my ear

Impedes my progress
In the form of
Coyotes
and Cops with radar-equipped
Vehicles

Here in the High Plains Desert
It surrounds me

A swirling Dust Cloud
Choking me, blinding.

And

She sits

Sits there
self-righteous and Triumphant
Reading some book
In

French

Cursing me like the
Marquis de Sade.

And then I know.

I know there will be no
day in old age
when we look back
like
Sentimental
Fools

We will never say

“It’s been a long beautiful journey together.”

Or plot our gravestones

Side by Side

And for now this is fine.

We will bide our time
in this parallel existence

Now and Again

Rekindling something from
long ago, when we
first

Met

When we laid naked all
Day together
Reading
or
Eating

Between

Making Love

And when the time comes
We will part ways

Not as enemies, but

neither as friends

We will seperate like

a
rocket
to
the
moon

Falling in different directions
our destinations
unknown

And
I

will try to remember

Remember what it was like
to be
With

You

Realizing that perhaps it was all just

a

Dream

That we never said

“I love you”

For each other

but as a way to ward

Off

the
Solitude

And one day
I hope you will find

what it is you Seek

That maybe in your discovery

I
Too

May somehow

Be

Saved

~ by fairlane on September 6, 2007.

16 Responses to “Out West”

  1. Beautiful.

  2. That was awesome.

  3. Great writing as usual!

  4. Very nice! ; )

    Has anyone ever told you that you should write for a living? ; )

    sorry, too early for spel chek

  5. That is so beautiful- really truly amazing and very beautiful.

    thank you so much.

  6. I always wonder how my unpredictability will play out. One day I’m ranting then the next I’m waxing poetic.

    Thanks

    Coffee- I’m trying, but it ain’t easy. America is, as you know, not big on art anymore, and getting published is hard a hell.

    Of course it might help if I actually finished my book.

  7. Sweet poem..

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  8. Wow, good stuff.

  9. Very nice, Fairlane. Are you working on a book of poetry?

  10. Wow, very insightful. It really spoke to me.

  11. Clap- Thanks, you’re not so bad yourself.

    Nvisible- You do have that ethereal quality don’t you?

    Morse- No actually my book is an allegorical, fairy tale, fictional autobiography.

    If that makes sense to you, let me know because I’m not so sure about it anymore.

    Maui- I hope that didn’t happen to you as well. It seems to be my pattern.

  12. bravo!! [applause ends with standing ovation]

    and now a word from our sponsors:

    it’s a bittersweet symphony, that’s life
    sometimes i feel like i don’t have a partner, sometimes i feel like my only friend
    love hurts, but sometimes it’s a good hurt cus it feels like i’m alive
    my day will come, i know someday i’ll be the only one
    with or without you

  13. Of all the arts, I think poetry and sculpture are the hardest to pull off. I’m not much of a poetry fan (a real shortcoming), but sometimes, when it works really well, I can feel myself becoming part of the poem, and when this happens, it is unlike anything I’ve ever encountered in any other medium.

    That was a terrific poem, and I found myself there. Startling, indeed.

    Regards,

    Tengrain

  14. 23,000 words
    ten days
    you finish what you want to finish
    I envy that

  15. Well all I can say is that shitty love sucks ass.

    But the coast- well, thats something.

  16. raffi- I wrote that poem almost ten years ago. I’m kind of going through the same thing again, but this time I’m ten years older.

    Apparently, I’m a slow learner.

    Ten- Shit, I don’t know what to say. I’m still not used to the instantaneous response.

    Thanks.

    David- That unfortunately is also a curse. I only finish what I want to finish.

    Lynn- We’re actually great friends now, and I speak to her several times a month, and we even visit one another now and again.

    The coast is definitely something. I took that picture in California. Near Bodega Bay I think.

Leave a Reply

 
