Elvis Costello- What’s So Funny Bout Peace, Love and Understanding & Alison

 

Elvis Costello

Elvis was asked at the last minute to play on SNL as a replacement for the Sex Pistols who were denied entry into the United States.

His record company wanted him to play “Less Than Zero” in order to promote the release of “My Aim is True” and “This Year’s Model”, but a few bars in Elvis changes his mind.

“Radio, Radio” is a protest song against, yep you guessed it, the radio, and its dumbing down of music.

The line, “They don’t give you any choice ’cause they think that it’s treason,” is a reference to the Sex Pistols and their song “God Save the Queen.” (The British Parliament wanted to try them as traitors for mocking the Queen).

Kelso, he would be my choice as one of the best songwriters ever.

Alison


yelduts

 

Elvis Costello

and

Nick Lowe

What’s So Funny Bout Peace, Love and Understanding?


Blonde Falcon 2

Related PostsButthole Surfers, The Jesus Lizard, Joy Division, New Order, Dead Kennedys, Interpol, Sigur Rós, Captain Beefheart, The Misfits, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, The Birthday Party, Subhumans, Radiohead, The Fall, Big Black, Iggy and Dead Boys, Dwarves, Slint and Crain, Swans, Siouxsie and the Banshees and Nick Cave, Can

~ by fairlane on September 16, 2007.

8 Responses to “Elvis Costello- What’s So Funny Bout Peace, Love and Understanding & Alison”

  1. Love It! But nobody has ever answered his question……?

  2. I remember this clearly and how I loved being reminded of that here.

    “Radio, Radio” is a protest song against, yep you guessed it, the radio, and its dumbing down of music.

    The line, “They don’t give you any choice ’cause they think that it’s treason,” is a reference to the Sex Pistols and their song “God Save the Queen.” (The British Parliament wanted to try them as traitors for mocking the Queen).

    That says it all.

    Dumbing down- the root of all the great crimes of our time.

    It sucks. Where’ my kool aid man?

  3. Agree wholeheartedly and not only for the brilliant lyrics. Look “Radio, Radio” and “Oliver’s Army” sealed the deal right there. But like Radiohead and Zappa, Elvis has never been afraid to take chances.

    And now a lot of names come cascading down: TOM WAITS, TOWNES VAN ZANDT, JOHNNY CASH…

    Help me today. I went on and on about esoteric subjects I thought were important but it was too fucking long and I can’t get any comments. Just skim it for me and if you see something interesting, hit the keys, please.

    Any thoughts on the trivia question?

  4. Future- I don’t think anyone can answer his question. At least not logically or rationally.

    Wingnuts don’t want peace because they have none themselves.

    Fran- I still remember it as well, although I was very young. At the time I thought EC was a nerd.

    Kelso- There are so many great bands. I have yet to even begin touching the surface.

    Radiohead is one of my all time favorite bands.

  5. I have rediscovered Elvis Costello. I loved him in the late 80s and then lost him for a while.

    I have got to his version of Ring of Fire. It’s stuck in my head.

    Love these music posts

  6. K- I’m not sure about the trivia question. I have trouble telling the difference between baritone and bass. Otherwise I’d say Johnny Cash and maybe Gira from Swans.

    D-Cup- I’m the same way with just about every band. I go through phases where I listen to them constantly, and then suddenly stop and move on to something else.

    I’ve been in a 70-80’s phase lately.

  7. Fairlane-

    Don’t know how old you are but I could swear we hung out in college. This musical review reads like the cover card of the mixed tapes I used to make when I borrowed albums from friends.

  8. Spartacus- Good old mixed tapes. Damn. By the time my daughter grows up she’ll have no idea what a cassette is. What a shame.

    I had a twenty something recently tell me, “CD’s are old. No one listens to CD’s anymore.”

    I’m old or at least I feel old lately.

Leave a Reply

 
