Butthole Surfers

797panimage15.jpg

Butthole Surfers

Cherub


Slycheetah

Butthole Surfers

100 Million People Dead


backporchvideos

Next week, we’ll discuss Hygiene.

~ by fairlane on February 9, 2008.

6 Responses to “Butthole Surfers”

  1. I love the Butthole Surfers! One of the greatest lines in any song ever is from them, and I use it often in my life.

    “Daddy, what does regret mean?
    Well son, the funny thing about regret is,
    It’s better to regret something you have done,
    Than to regret something you haven’t done.”

    -“Swetloaf”

    -I’m sure you know there’s more to that quote, but I leave that part out.

  2. I love that quote too, CTC. Fairlane, don’t fret over hygeine. It’s the grease that gets the music goin,’ apparently.

  3. This morning I was thinking of another favorite punk group – the Plasmatics and their album ‘New Hope For The Wretched’. You see I’m having a problem with ‘hope’ as a foundation word for a major political campaign. What should I find when I checked the Rolling Stone reviews for the album but a campaign ad for Barack Obama. There’s a taste of your good old synchronicity. We listened to the album in the car this morning and were thinking maybe Barack should use ‘Squirm’ as his campaign song and perhaps he could punk up his image by wearing black electrician’s tape on his nipples.

    As either a noun or a verb ‘hope’ is a passive word. Once you hope it means you no longer have any control:
    I hope it doesn’t rain.
    I hope I passed the test.
    I hope I turned off the iron.
    The building’s burning – I hope the fireman rescues me.

    I mean what are we going to do here?

    GW didn’t just hope to attack Iraq.
    Bill Gates doesn’t just hope you buy Windows.
    The drug companies don’t just hope the docs will prescribe their meds.
    The arms industry doesn’t just hope there’ll be another war.
    The mafia doesn’t just hope the grocer will pay ‘protection’.

    We all have hopes:

    I hope we get single payer healthcare.
    I hope we can rebuild the infrastructure.
    I hope agrabusiness will stop monoculture of our food.
    I hope the coal industry will stop removing mountain tops.
    I hope we stop polluting.
    I hope we stop hassling visitors who enter the country.
    I hope we stop spying on citizens.
    I hope everybody has a home to go to and food to eat.

    Yes, we all have hopes but what I’m really hoping to hear from one of the candidates that’s still around is some PLANS.

    I’ll let Wendy finish this one with the lyrics to their song ‘Stop’:

    Stop While You’ve Still Got
    The Time
    Look What You’ve Done To
    Yourself
    Stop While You’ve Still Got
    The Time
    Look What You’ve Done To
    Yourself
    Stop With The Rape Of The
    Earth
    You Were Not Made For This
    Stop With Your Campaign Of Hate
    Stop Before It Is Too Late
    The Bell Tolls
    The Bell Tolls
    Bringing The Moment Of Truth
    Ringing Its Warning
    It’s Ringing
    The Moment Of Truth
    Wake-Up
    Wake-Up
    Wake-Up
    Wake-Up

  4. fairlane – I apologize for mentioning the name of another suicide. I thought she was relevant then and still do.

  5. Ahhhhh, the BHS. Any chance they’ll re-coagulate or have they returned to the Austin dust from which they sprang?

  6. Cowboy- I believe the rest goes something like this, “And by the way, if you see your mom this weekend, be sure and tell her, SATAN! SATAN! SATAN!”

    Frieda- I think the LSD helps as well.

    Susan- I haven’t thought about Wendy O in a long time.

    DED- I’m thinking they may be finished, butt who knows for sure?

Leave a Reply

 
