The Irony and the Ecstasy

567800-galactus_400.jpgThere’s an old saying, “The Rich Get Richer, and the Poor? Eh, Fuck’em.”

Well, it looks like the Rich just Hit the Lotto, and the Poor are out back cowering in the Shadows.

So, while they await Oblivion, we may as well have a little fun.

**********************************************************

2440733850101706852s200x200q85.jpg distributorcap NY

Folks… I am new to Jonestown, so be kind….

Here is a scary thought. The Supreme Court will take on its first indecency case since 1978. Yes, that court – the one populated by such tolerant and progressive thinkers as John Roberts, Clarence “Soda Can Hair” Thomas and of course, Antonin Scalia. But what makes this even more sardonic, the case involves the network owned by a right-wing corporatist that never met a curse he didn’t like (or find profitable) – FOX.

The Supremes will hear arguments for FCC vs. Fox Television Stations this fall. It involves a relatively new FCC policy that permits fines against broadcasters that air “fleeting expletives” – in other words — quick mentions of the F-word and its ‘close cousins.’ This begs the question – when Jane Fonda said ‘cunt’ on the Today Show – was that a first cousin or second cousin twice removed? The specific case involves the 2002 and 2003 Billboard Music Awards shows on FOX, in which Cher and Nicole Richie uttered profanities in separate incidences. I guess Mrs. Scalia’s ears must have fallen off – as two (count ‘em two!) tabloid queens of trash burned up the airwaves with screech inducing profanity. In 2002, Cher said ”Fuck ’em,” while in 2003, Nicole Richie showed she could double up on fleeting expletives and said, ”Have you ever tried to get cow shit out of a Prada purse? It’s not so fucking simple.” Reality television was never so creative.

cher2.jpg

In a completely separate issue, the infamous Janet Jackson “wardrobe malfunction” rears its ugly nipple again as CBS is challenging a $550,000 fine the FCC imposed for the 2004 Super Bowl halftime burlesque show. The 3rd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Philadelphia is considering whether the incident was indecent or merely a ‘fleeting’ and accidental glitch that shouldn’t be punished. (on any level, showing a Jackson nipple is probably a glitch).

Is this not like a scene straight out of Plan 9 From The First Monday in October? It is (here comes the bomb) fucking laughable. Our judicial system, you know the one overrun by graduates of Pat Robertson’s Liberty University and good church-going religious folk with virgin ears, is wasting your tax dollars on 3-second peaks at tits and ass. Then again the Bush administration just spent $30 billion to rescue Bear Stearns – you know the venerable brokerage firm with traders who have been cursing like banshees at the homeowners who cannot pay their mortgages and the banks who sold them those bonds. By the way Justice Department — waterboarding is a lot more obscene than shit in a Prada purse.

No fines were issued in the FOX Billboard incidents, but the FCC could impose fines for future violations of the policy. Recently the FCC has levied stiff (so to speak) penalties against both ABC ($1.4 million) for showing a butt for like 2-seconds on NYPD Blue in 1993, and FOX (again, $1.2 million) for airing an episode of Married by America in 2004 they (the FCC) deemed ‘indecent’. It took the FCC 14 years to determine that showing a butt crack on the airwaves for 2 seconds was indecent. It took the Fed one day to save the sorry asses of the Bear Stearns executives.

The FCC lost its initial case with FOX:

The FCC appealed to the Supreme Court after the 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in New York nullified the agency’s enforcement regime regarding ”fleeting expletives.” By a 2-1 vote, the appeals court said the FCC had changed its policy and failed to adequately explain why it had done so. The appeals court also said the policy was invalid and may violate the First Amendment.

My question is, with Bush shredding the Constitution on a daily basis, does the First Amendment even still exist? To prevent the total meltdown of American society, the FCC initiated this new ‘fleeting expletive’ policy after Bono said ”fucking brilliant” at the 2003 Golden Globes Awards. The FCC now said the ”F-word’ in any context ‘inherently has a sexual connotation’ and can trigger fines and enforcement.

Unfortunately, the F-bomb the current morality-chief-in-charge drops on us everyday doesn’t fall under the auspices of the FCC – so no fines for the Decider.

Solicitor General Paul Clement, representing the FCC and the Bush administration, argued that the decision ”places the commission in an untenable position,” powerless to stop the airing of expletives even when children are watching. The FCC has pending before it ”hundreds of thousands of complaints” regarding the broadcast of expletives, Clement said. He argued that the appeals court decision has left the agency ”accountable for the coarsening of the airwaves while simultaneously denying it effective tools to address the problem.”

Fearing the kids of America are being made ill by an unhealthy torrent of curse words, Chimpy the Great and his band of merry moral arbiters has decided to come their rescue and rid those nasty TV shows of bad language. However if those same kids should get ill from the curse of MS, diabetes, cancer, pollution or poisoned food – they are own their own. No S-CHIP for them!

Justice Potter Stewart famously said about obscenity “I shall not today attempt further to define the kinds of material I understand to be embraced . . . but I know it when I see it.” I ALSO know it when I see it – while FOX is endemically obscene, in this case it is not fleetingly obscene. Any judgment against FOX sets bad precedent. Call this another strike against free speech.  Never count out the Roberts Court to make ridiculously poor ruling.

fox_tv_logo-med-small_1.jpg

I will end this by saying how ironic is it that FOX is under the microscope for indecency, the same FOX that gives the Republican Party an ectastic orgasm with its outright lies every night and the rest of America the most obscene bloviating in the history of journalism.

Source for quotes: TV Newsday 3/17/08

~ by distributorcap on March 18, 2008.

18 Responses to “The Irony and the Ecstasy”

  1. DCap,
    Welcome. You don’t know how happy I am to see read your work at Jonestown. This is awesome. As for this post, I have to say man, you are simply on fire. Someone needs to douse this motherfucker because he’s burning it up. Oh shit, did I just curse? Fuck! And I did it in public? Can the FCC be far behind the predatory parking attendant that left me a ticket on York Ave and 86th on Saturday as I was playing music with my friend Janaumo and my brother Joe.

    Dude, this is not about the cursing. It’s about control. These fuckers want to control everything, attempting even to strip us of our most expressive of words. I let my kids watch Family Guy and South Park, which is loaded with “blue” language and rarely, if ever, do I hear them use it in open discourse. That’s because in our house, it’s not taboo to curse. I do it all the time and don’t get on my kids case when they feel the need to do so. I am of the mind that words exist out of necessity and curses are no different.

    I say let the fucking fuckers of the world bare their tits and asses and say what they fucking want. And, more importantly, welcome to fucking Jonestown you fucking New Yorker.

    I think that makes three of us now — me, you and Dave Dancy. Fairlane did we pass our quota?

  2. Welcome DCap and Spartacus. I think this blog’s “Evil” rating just went up, like, 20 percentage points on this post and preceding comment.

    Burn in hell you New York bastards!

  3. distributorcap NY,

    deeee-lighted to see you here. 🙂

  4. A good post? I know it when I see it. Oh shit, I forgot to say ‘fuck.’ Amazing how swear words and being poor or getting sick are all equally obscene to these assholes. Oh, nipples too, can’t forget nipples. And asses.

  5. Excellent post, Dcap. And it’s always puzzled me how hideous depictions of violence are perfectly acceptable, but swear words are “obscene”. I’d sooner have my 6- and 3-year-olds hear an occasional f-bomb than see heads blown off. (Oh, and tell Spartacus to watch his fucking language. What the fuck is up with that crazy fucker?)

  6. What the fuck is this world coming to, all that bad language on TV? You’d think we were all just a bunch of fucking animals or something! (ok…this was all said in the name of creative writing and doesn’t count on my Lenten promise not to swear).

    I’m glad to find you over here, Dcap, even if I had to trudge all the way over from your blog to find you.

    My kids are all grown and even though they’ve been exposed to bad language on the web, at school, on TV, (never from me…honest, I don’t swear at home, just on the net!), I don’t hear them using a lot of profanity. I guess as long as it’s on shows in the evening or on channels where adults are more likely to watch, it’s ok. I wouldn’t want to have the f-bomb dropped on Sesame Street or Dora the Explorer….although that fucking Swiper on Dora the Explorer who keeps swiping stuff needs his ass chewed out.

    Ok…I swore enough. Great post, Dcap! I didn’t hear about his until now.

  7. Amazing what does and doesn’t pass for obscene, eh?

  8. I’m with CDP here. I have always found depictions of violence to be more deplorable for children to view than references or images pertaining to sex. The word fuck is a word. Even children are smarter than the Bush admin. and the FCC. My kids come home from school and tell me things like there is no such thing as a “bad” finger. Fuck is not always a reference to copulation, but I suppose, in the rare instance when it is, there is a fear that the sex education talk might come up and that conflicts with the don’t ask, don’t tell policies of the abstentians (whoever they may be- I think they are mythic.)

  9. First time visitor here. Yep DCap is correct there are better things we could be doing with our time and money.

  10. spart — thanks so much, it is always about control. and us folks from NY always are pushing our way in

    johnny – us NYers burn in many places

    nunhya — thanks!

    randal — that ass GWB is our tv alot and no one gets fined

    cdp – – i have never gotten why violence is ok – but tits arent

    me — it just scares me anytime something that has to do with freedom goes before Scalia

    scarlet — i think watching cheney lie is obscene. but no one listens

    freida — thanks — the whole language thing is so ridiculous — especially on television since caable has no rules

    thanks to all!

  11. I was just having this conversation with my elderly female neighbor last night over too much wine. I was shouting about how on C.S.I, they show people’s heads get bashed in and nobody bats an eye, but one freaking nipple pops out, and the whole world goes up in flames. This weblog is so TIMELY! Good stuff.

  12. Well smell you for a week, you fucker. I thought your work was already fucking great, but what the fuck… it is even better. There is nothing fucking fleeting about my use of language. And there is even remotely fleeting about it. Nor is there anything fleeting about your mad talent. If I didn’t know you so well, based on your looks and your talent, I would be crushing on you hard. So I just love you!

  13. I think it’s pretty obvious how I feel about so-called “Obscenity.”

    In the Fascist mind, violence is more “natural” than Sex. Violence goes hand in hand with Social Darwinism.

    Humans have always been, and always will be, violent. It’s part of the “natural order.”

    “The sex instinct will be eradicated. Procreation will be an annual formality like the renewal of a ration card. We shall abolish orgasm…There will be no distinction between beauty and ugliness. There will be no curiosity, no employment of the process of life. All competing pleasures will be destroyed. But always-do not forget this, Winston-always there will be the intoxication of power, constantly increasing and constantly growing subtler. Always, at every moment, there will be the thrill of victory, the sensation of trampling on an enemy who is helpless. If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face…forever.”

    Eric Blair

  14. Cowboy: I’ve said this over and over. I would rather that there be full frontal nudity on tv than any violence. Most kids will grow up and get naked with at least one other adult in their lifetimes, but let’s hope they don’t see someone getting shot. But no, a naked butt is horrific, but shootings, blood, bashed in heads…just fine. This country is sick.
    And fucking kudos on a fucking fabulous post, DCap.

  15. OMG, I thought we were past this nonsense…http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=10727659

    Oh fuck it.

    Nice site you wise guys, very smooth.

  16. Hello, Mr Cap.
    I wish to vehemently dissent.

    I love tits. I really do.
    But there are just some tits in this world that I definitely DO NOT want to look at AT ALL.
    Quite a few of them, actually.

    I prefer to enjoy tits in the privacy of my gf’s bedroom.
    Or living room, if the kids are gone.
    Or the kitchen.
    Or in the bathroom, if she’s trying to get ready for work.
    Or in the parking lot, if we’re going to the mall.
    Or– Goodness! I do so enjoy tits!

  17. cowboy – thanks —

    fia — if we cant get past language we cant get past anything

    fairland – eastasia is always at war with eurasia. a fiction book has never been so true

    piny – thznks SO much

    marjorie – fuck it all!

    prog — go ahead and love tits!

  18. I wrote a lengthy comment and it disappeared with the caribou.
    Fuck it.

Leave a Reply

 
