there was a time

Yesterday-

I looked a 15 year old Boy

in the Eyes, and told him,

“Everything will be alright”

Knowing, the Entire time, his Father

is-

Waiting

with a Whiskey Bottle

and a mind littered with bitter memories

Of

Broken dreams, and

Noses

And this Boy

Smiles

Knowing, the Entire Time,

He is going to Kill Someone

on

Some Lonely street

When the Whiskey and Bruises

are no Longer

Enough

To keep his mind

Quiet

So,

We shake hands, and

Part

Ways

Like Bastard Martyrs

Dying for the Sins of Others

And maybe this boy will say,

what a Good Man

I

Am

That I tried

Even though

I

Know

The Dead cannot be

Sheltered

From the

Cold

~ by fairlane on April 21, 2008.

8 Responses to “there was a time”

  1. The Dead cannot be

    Sheltered

    From the

    Cold

    ***

    No, they cannot. And, on top of that, a child’s innocent wish for that NOT to be so and the wounds resulting from that realization rarely, if ever, heal, even when the adult, rational brain finally kicks in. One can only hope that the child ultimately understands that whatever the father did is not his fault.

  2. //Yesterday-

    I looked a 15 year old Boy

    in the Eyes//

    ah, shit. I feel pain. You OK?

  3. I’m the old lady result of another kind of passing the cruelty and drunken bad behavior on to the next, and the next generations without end. So, here I sit childless. At some point I learned that I could be safe only if alone. Safety might be over rated unless your parents were bad enough, and everyone knew, and no one did more than look me in the eyes and say, “Everything will be alright.”

  4. My dad was a bad ass. He said “do as I say not as i do”
    then he quit drinkin

  5. he saved lives

  6. Man…this poem is so out there. I’m sure it was as painful to write as it was for me to read. I reads like a flurry of punches to the head — you really don’t know what hit you until the adrenaline wears off and you feel the hurt on your face and taste the blood on your lips.

  7. Good work.

  8. You’re on a roll, old man.

Leave a Reply

 
