Everything Went Black

To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time;
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.

~ by fairlane on January 7, 2009.

40 Responses to “Everything Went Black”

  1. Are you all corpses?

  2. ok. and if you paint your fingernails orange, they really show up well in black.

  3. Yup.

  4. Ominous portents?

  5. What happened? Did Scarlet break out and your out searching for her?

  6. good mourning all

  7. uh-oh. Keeps your shirts on. The ones who take their shirts off first always get attacked first.

  8. This is odd, like my blog.

  9. Much Ado About Nothing
    “When Burbidge played, the Stage was bare
    Of Fount and Temple, Tower and Stair”
    On reading your tribute to the Bard, I was recalling that Shakespearian drama preceded stage sets.
    ‘Black is Beautiful.’

  10. well, macbeth and lady macbeth (bush/cheney) are in fact about to leave the stage. fade to black, curtains slowly come down. the audience is dazed and confused. not to mention that mayhem abounds even though the play is “over.”

  11. Whoa. Your blog is deep.

  12. My favorite Shakespeare speech – I memorized it as a teen just because it so perfectly expressed my teenage angst.

  13. Hello? (echoes))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  14. Hello, hello, hello
    Is there anybody in there?
    Just nod if you can hear me.
    Is there anyone at home? –

    Pink Floyd.

  15. look at the poet
    have a blessed 2009

  16. blacking out the blog is a cheap stunt Fairlane….. come back and blog correctly…..Black Motorcycle Club

    actually i kinda like the motif….

  17. Well crap! I don’t stop by for a few days and look what happens. If it’s something I said, please forgive me and come back.

  18. It’s no “Stunt” Ghost. Jonestown is, at the very least, closed for the foreseeable future.

    I truly appreciate the support.

    I had a lot of fun, and I hope you did as well.

    Peace Out with Two Fingers.

  19. Do what you will &stuff…..but I wanna said thanks for all the gooe reads &writes. OK.

  20. good luck, fairlane. and of course the same to all your fellow ‘jonestownites’ or is it ‘jonestowners’?

    anyway, your work was (and remains) excellent and very much appreciated.

  21. well i still like the motif and i think you should reconsider, but do what is best for you…. i will miss you and your merry pranksters…..

  22. Well, if it’s truly done, thanks to Fairlane and the rest of the crew for the insightful essays and commentary. I’ll try to follow the writers to their own blogs.

  23. Give me a shoutout if you return.

    Later,

  24. If you’re done with them, can I have all those nasty Barbie dolls? Please? Thanks.

  25. I’m sorry to see Jonestown go. I enjoyed writing for it. Good luck with whatever you do.
    Dashiell

  26. Agreed…

    Humanity has re-entered a pitch black phase
    reminiscent of the early Nazi days
    when the parts of the world
    that could make a difference
    collectively turned its eyes away
    and pretended there was light.

    ~ by Kit

  27. GObama Go!

  28. dang – tight verse

  29. Fairlane, I’m sorry to see Jonestown is closed. I hope you open it again when the mood strikes and I hope to see you around the blogs…we’ll miss you.

  30. There are Carebears in charge! Who is going to make it all better with Kool Aid if not you?

  31. Lights still out? OK. Just checking. there is an energy crisis, kinda, and if nobody is reading or righting, the lights should be out. OK. Just checking.

  32. Wishing you well…

  33. […] that Fairlane had replaced his Barbie doll banner with an empty screen, and one last headline: “Everything went black.” No explanation or set of instructions as to where we could find his writing in the future. Just a […]

  34. I know I’m late to the party… (life happens). I’ll definitely miss this place. Thanks for all of the good times, fairlane.

  35. I’m having a hard time finding you right now. No new posts?

    Also, I can’t get your graphics and header to load.

  36. You’re really all done?

    I’m sad. Especially now that your poetry has gotten so good.

  37. Life is short
    Eat desert first

    Sharon
    ~The Baby Boomer Queen~

  38. Hello former Jonestownians-

    ThePublicIntelectual is being sued for this blog entry:

    http://publicintellectual.wordpress.com/2008/06/06/barbarian-hillbilly-dog-shooter-christopher-comins/

    The goal is to suppress free speech about the story, particularly in light of the fact that my Plaintiff currently is facing felony charges for the incident. Odd, that the state can charge him with a felony for the same incident I’m being sued for simply telling the truth about. Anyhow, feel free to spread word about this. Even if my site gets forced off the Internet, the truth should not be allowed get erased.

  39. You are missed.

    😦

  40. Just stopped by to say hello.. miss you, could really use your insight in these timing tries.

Leave a Reply

 
